clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

“It’s a major award” for these Broncos

NCAA Football: Florida State at Boise State Melina Myers-USA TODAY Sports

The Mountain West all-conference teams were announced yesterday and the Broncos—as expected—did quite well, landing 14 on the first or second teams (5 on first team, 9 on second) and nailing down 3 of the 4 “player of the year” honors. Curtis Weaver held onto his preseason accolade and was named the 2019 Mountain West Defensive Player of the Year, RB George Holani was named the Mountain West Freshman of the Year (all as a third-stringer!), and Avery Williams was named the conference Special Teams Player of the Year. There was a case for the Broncos to have 4 of the 5 _____ of the Year spots, in reality, but as predicted the voters went with improvement over general excellence at Coach of the Year, which was won by Hawaii’s Nick Rolovich.

Here are the other Bronco recipients:

First Team Offense:

OL John Molchon
OL Ezra Cleveland

First Team Defense:

DL Curtis Weaver
DB Kekaula Kaniho

First Team Special Teams:

PR Avery Williams

Second Team Offense:

RB George Holani
WR John Hightower
OL Garrett Larson

Second Team Defense:

DL Chase Hatada
DL David Moa
LB Riley Whimpey
DB Kekoa Nawahine
DB Jalen Walker

Second Team Special Teams:

KR John Hightower

Honorable Mention:

TE John Bates
DL Sonatane Lui
OL Eric Quevedo
WR Khalil Shakir
DB Avery Williams

Now go out there on Saturday and underscore these awards, fellas. And Harsin...beat that Coach of the Year a second time. Go Broncos!