clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Boise State selected to win Mountain Division; Place eight on preseason All-MWC

NCAA Football: Mountain West Championship-Fresno State at Boise State Brian Losness-USA TODAY Sports

Broncos made a bit of a showing today at the Mountain West Football 2018 Media Summit today.

The Broncos had a league-leading eight athletes on the preseason All-Conference selection.

On offense: Brett Rypien, Alexander Mattison, Ezra Cleveland, and John Molchon.

Defense: David Moa, Curtis Weaver, and Tyler Horton.

To go along with those team selections, Boise State QB Brett Rypien was selected as the Offensive Player of the Year (the first selection for Boise State since Kellen Moore in 2011). Brett Rypien has 9,876 career passing yards and needs 2,815 to become the MWC all-time leader. Rypien is coming into his final season with three All-MWC selections.

Avery Williams also made the Special Teams Player of the Year. This is the first for the Broncos since Dallas Burroughs in 2012. Williams led the MWC (13th in the country) on 11.2 yards per return. He also ranked second in the nation with two punts returned for touchdowns.

Not to be outdone, the Broncos are also selected to win the Mountain Division.

And they did so by getting all off the first-place votes.

The expectations for the Broncos are going to be sky-high considering the returning talent and the favorable schedule. The attention the team is getting is going to fuel whatever expectations the fan-base had after last year and winning the MWC will be the minimum. After that, it’s anyone’s guess.