clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Brett Rypien voted Freshman of the Year, first team All-MWC

Full list of Bronco honorees below

Kyle Terada-USA TODAY Sports

Boise State freshman QB Brett Rypien was named the first team All-MWC QB today—a first in league history—and also snagged Freshman of the Year honors, naturally. WR Thomas Sperbeck, LT Rees Odhiambo, C Marcus Henry,  K Tyler Rausa, and S Darian Thompson joined Rypien on the conference first-team, while RB Jeremy McNichols, TE Jake Roh, CB Donte Deayon and DE Kamalei Correa rounded out the second team for the Broncos. Three players—LB Tanner Vallejo, RT Mario Yakoo, and DE Tyler Horn received honorable mention honors.

San Diego State fielded the offensive player of the year, the defensive player of the year, AND the special teams player of the year in RB Donnel Pumphrey, DB Demontae Kazee, and KR Rashaad Penny, respectively and Rocky Long now has Coach of the Year honors to go along with his mystique.

Full list of MWC honorees can be found HERE.