clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Boise State shares WAC awards with others

The WAC handed out its annual awards today in what proved to be the ultimate communist ploy against the Broncos. Despite rolling through the conference undefeated, Boise State had only five players make first-team all-conference and had neither the WAC's offensive or defensive player of the year. Conspiracy? Clerical error? You decide.

Here are the WAC's big winners:

Offensive player of the year: Nevada QB Colin Kaepernick
Defensive player of the year: Hawaii LB Solomon Elimimian, SJSU DT Jarron Gilbert
Freshman of the year: Boise State QB Kellen Moore
Coach of the year: Boise State's Chris Petersen

The Coach of the Year win by Coach Pete must feel good, especially after June Jones famously jobbed him for the honor back in 2006. Moore's Freshman of the Year was well-deserved, too, although we thought he should have won a slightly bigger award.

And as far as only five Broncos fitting into the 27 spots on the all-conference first team, we have no choice but to chalk that one up to BSU's team play. The Broncos have played as a unit all season long, and the WAC picks reflect as much.

That being said, we were still able to come up with a list of some notable Bronco names that were left off: Vinny Perretta, Kyle Brotzman, Brandyn Thompson, Jeremy Avery, Kyle Gingg.

And here are the full lists for your viewing pleasure.

Pos Name, School
WR Jeremy Childs, Boise State
WR Marko Mitchell, Nevada
WR Chris Williams, New Mexico State
TE Eddie Williams, Idaho
OL Andrew Woodruff, Boise State
OL Bobby Lepori, Fresno State
OL John Estes, Hawai‘i
OL Adam Korby, Idaho
OL Dominic Green, Nevada
QB Colin Kaepernick, Nevada
RB Daniel Porter, Louisiana Tech
RB Vai Taua, Nevada

Pos Name, School
DL Ryan Winterswyk, Boise State
DL D’Anthony Smith, Louisiana Tech
DL Kevin Basped, Nevada
DL Jarron Gilbert, San Jose State
LB Ellis Powers, Boise State
LB Solomon Elimimian, Hawai‘i
LB Adam Leonard, Hawai‘i
LB Duke Ihenacho, San Jose State
DB Kyle Wilson, Boise State
DB Ryan Mouton, Hawai‘i.
DB Antonio Baker, Louisiana Tech
DB Christopher Owens, San Jose State

Pos Name, School
PK Brett Jaekle, Nevada
P T.J. Conley, Idaho
ST Phillip Livas, Louisiana Tech

WR Austin Petts, So., Boise State
WR Michael Washington, Sr., Hawai‘i
WR David Richmond, Sr., San Jose State
TE Bear Pascoe, Sr., Fresno State
OL Andrew Jackson, So., Fresno State
OL Mike Iupati, Jr., Idaho
OL Rob McGill, So., Louisiana Tech
OL Alonzo Durham, Jr., Nevada
OL Mike Gallett, So., Nevada
OL Richie Bolin, Sr., New Mexico State
OL Brennan McFadden, Jr., Utah State
QB Kellen Moore, Fr., Boise State
RB Ian Johnson, Sr., Boise State
RB Yonus Davis, Sr., San Jose State

DL Mike T. Williams, Sr., Boise State
DL David Veikune, Sr., Hawai‘i
DL Keala Watson, Sr., Hawai‘i
DL Dontay Moch, So., Nevada
DL Carl Ihenacho, Jr., San Jose State
LB Chris Carter, So., Fresno State
LB Ben Jacobs, So., Fresno State
LB Justin Cole, Jr., San Jose State
LB Jake Hutton, Jr., Utah State
LB Paul Igboeli, Jr., Utah State
DB Jeron Johnson, So., Boise State
DB Moses Harris, Jr., Fresno State
DB Derrick Richardson, Sr., NMSU
DB Coye Francies, Sr., San Jose State

PK Tino Amancio, Sr., Idaho
P Chris Keagle, Sr., Louisiana Tech
P Brad Langley, So., Nevada
ST Kyle Wilson, Jr., Boise State
What do you think? Did the WAC screw the pooch? Who should have made it and who should have been left off? Let us know in the comments, and we'll be sure to forward your opinions on to Karl Benson.

Read more: All-WAc football teams announced []