clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Boise State hands out internal awards internally

The Broncos held their awards banquet last weekend to honor the team's most valuable players, or, in other words, to honor Kellen Moore.

The freshman quarterback took home the offensive MVP award to the surprise of no one. Here are the rest of the winners:

Most Valuable Offensive Player – QB Kellen Moore
Other nominees: Jeremy Childs, some hybrid of Jeremy Avery and Ian Johnson

Most Valuable Defensive Player – DE Ryan Winterswyk & S/LB Ellis Powers
Other nominees: Jeron Johnson, Mike T. Williams, Kyle Wilson, Hawaii QB Inoke Funaki

Special Teams Player of the Year – CB/PR Kyle Wilson & K/P Kyle Brotzman
Other nominees: Ian Johnson, not Brad Elkin

Iron Bronco Award (Weight Room Dedication) – TE Chris O’Neill
Other nominees: John "He has a beard, he must be able to lift a ton of weights" Gott, Brock Jaramillo

Ultimate Blue Blood Award (Red-Shirt Dedication) – DT Darren Koontz
Other nominees: Byron Hout for those first few weeks,

Defensive Scout Player of the Year – DT Michael Atkinson
Other nominees: Tyler Jackson, the group responsible for impersonating the Oregon defense

Offensive Scout Player of the Year – WR Mitch Burroughs
Other nominees: Carlo Audagnotti, the poor kid who got beat up by Winterswyk every week

Special Teams Scout Player of the Year – DB Josh Borgman
Other nominees: Wait a second. They scout special teams?

Hammer Award – RB Doug Martin
Other nominees: Powers, the train that hit Idaho State QB Russell Hill

Outstanding Offensive Lineman Award – OT Andrew Woodruff
Other nominees: just Andrew Woodruff

Outstanding Defensive Lineman Award – DE Mike T. Williams
Other nominees: Winterswyk, Hout, Shea McClellin, Joe Bozikovich, Sean Bingham, Steven Reveles, Billy Winn, Chase Baker, etc.

"Pat Fuller Memorial" Award (Academic Achievement) – LB Dallas Dobbs
Other nominees: Richie Brockel

Denny Erickson "Valor" Award – WR Vinny Perretta

Bronco Excellence Award – QB Bush Hamdan

Read more: Bronco football team awards presented at annual awards banquet []