clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

WAC coaches define conference chasm

The WAC, maybe more than any other conference in America, has a great discrepancy between the teams at the top and the teams at the bottom. Boise State and Hawaii played in BCS bowls the past two years while Utah State and Idaho struggled to win a single game.

One of the reasons for this gap is the coaching, and Sporting News apparently agrees. The following is their ranking of non-BCS coaches.

1. June Jones, SMU
2. Gary Patterson, TCU
3. Pat Hill, Fresno State
4. Bronco Mendenhall, BYU
5. Chris Petersen, Boise State
6. Todd Graham, Tulsa
7. Larry Blakeney, Troy
8. Dick Tomey, San Jose State
9. George O'Leary, Central Florida
10. Kyle Whittingham, Utah
20. Chris Ault, Nevada
30. Hal Mumme, New Mexico State
40. Derek Dooley, Louisiana Tech
47. Brent Guy, Utah State
49. Robb Akey, Idaho
50. Greg McMackin, Hawaii
Just to clarify, there are only 52 total.

Ranking the non-BCS coaches [Sporting News]