According to the WAC...
On the interference call, the rule requires that the punt returner be given an unimpeded chance to catch the ball. The protection extends until the ball hits the ground, WAC officials said. The Nevada returner never had control of the ball before Doug Martin hit him. The penalty wiped out the Broncos’ fumble recover
Anyone else think the ball hitting your chest, arms, and legs, is a perfectly good opportunity to catch the ball? yeah, me too. I guess that means one could bobble the ball all the way down field, never being able to get hit, because he doesn't have possession. Anyone want to give the hint to our guys? Just bobble it! It's so simple. Guaranteed TD every time. I mean, it's only following the rules, right? If the ball never hits the ground, and he never has possession, then it's ok.. I mean, had the guy called fair catch, then I'd be ok with this ruling, but I don't remember him calling fair catch. Which to me means, once you touch the ball, you should be able to get hit.. because you were dumb enough not to call fair catch when they have a chance to blast you.. Sorry WAC, IMO, you got this call wrong too. So my count is wrong on the same call twice? wow. even with a weekend to think about it. Oh defending your refs when they cost you $8million.. You will never learn WAC. No wonder you can only get terrible 1AA teams to join. Figures.
Also, Brotz apparently did an interview with ESPN?
Brotzman did an interview with ESPN’s Tom Rinaldi over the weekend but has declined all other requests. BSU doesn’t know when the interview will air.